Here are your 2014 Bob Feller award nominees


Sen. Sherrod Brown, D-Ohio, Anne Feller, Justin Verlander, HMC Garth Sinclair and Navy Secretary Ray Mabus on Nov. 6, 2013 at the first Feller award ceremony (Bob Feller Act of Valor Award Foundation).

Last year, Chief Hospital Corpsman (DV/FMF) Garth Sinclair, Detroit Tigers pitcher Justin Verlander and New York Yankees legend Yogi Berra were the first to receive the Bob Feller Act of Valor award, named for a man who was also a chief petty officer, a pitcher and a baseball legend.

Earlier this year, The Bob Feller Award Act of Valor foundation opened the nomination process for the award’s second year. Each Major League Baseball team was asked to nominate an active player and/or hall-of-famer who has made significant contributions to the military or veteran communities.

Active finalists include:

– Washington Nationals first baseman Adam LaRoche

– Kansas City Royals designated hitter Billy Butler

– Arizona Diamondbacks pitcher Brad Ziegler

– Pittsburgh Pirates pitcher Charlie Morton

– Baltimore Orioles pitcher Darren O’Day

– Boston Red Sox second baseman Dustin Pedroia

– Cincinnati Reds outfielder Jay Bruce

– Milwaukee Brewers catcher Jonathan Lucroy

– Colorado Rockies outfielder Michael Cuddyer

– Miami Marlins pitcher Mike Dunn

– Cleveland Indians outfielder/first baseman Nick Swisher

– Oakland Athletics pitcher Sean Doolittle

Baltimore Orioles pitcher Darren O’Day poses July 3 with sailors and the Oriole Bird after learning of his nomination at Oriole Park (Bob Feller Act of Valor Award Foundation).

The award was inspired by former chief and Baseball Hall of Famer Bob Feller, a Cleveland Indians pitcher who dropped everything at 23 years old to join the Navy after the Japanese attack on Pearl Harbor in 1941.  He served for four years, making chief before returning to the MLB and spending another decade with the Indians.

In addition to the MLB honorees, the award goes to one chief, nominated by his chain of command and approved by the master chief petty officer of the Navy. This year’s ceremony is scheduled for Nov. 5 at the Navy Memorial in Washington, D.C.

To read more about the award, as well as the nominees and their work with troops and veterans, visit


About Author

Leave A Reply